College Viability Inspection Report

Alabama A & M University

Alabama · Public

Alabama A & M University is a public institution in Alabama, enrolling 5,041 students as of 2024. It graduates 13% of students in four years, returns 70% of freshmen for a second year, and costs an average of $17,152 a year after grants and scholarships. Of the 8 inspection checks that could be evaluated, 3 are flagged: Retention, Graduation, and Enrollment. This report benchmarks Alabama A & M University's most recent reported year (2024) against 2,000+ U.S. colleges across three dimensions: student outcomes, financial health, and value for money. All figures are drawn from federal IPEDS filings and are reported without editorial judgment.

Data note: The U.S. Department of Education's IPEDS database did not include every reported figure for Alabama A & M University between 2020 and 2024. 1 indicator is not reported in IPEDS for any year 2020–2024 and 1 inspection flag could not be evaluated for lack of data — affected indicators are tagged below; missing years are shown as gaps in trend charts rather than estimated.

Alabama A & M University Inspection Flags

Student Outcomes
Financial Health
Value for Your Money

Inspection flags are nine independent checks across student outcomes, financial health, and cost-to-value that surface areas of a college's reported numbers worth a closer look. A triggered flag means the college's data met a specific threshold that students and families may want to ask about — for example, graduation rates slipping below a level, or tuition rising while outcomes decline. A clear flag means the threshold was not met. Flags are signals for further conversation, not verdicts.

Look Beyond the Brochure. Then Ask Your College.

Changing the Balance of Power from Colleges to Students and Families.

Every campus tour is a sales pitch. Colleges will show you the beautiful quad and the smiling Dean — not what doesn't flatter them. The right questions can reveal information that significantly impacts your experience.
College Viability
Data Summary

Alabama A & M University — All Reported Indicators

Plain-text reference table of every metric and inspection flag for Alabama A & M University. Values reflect IPEDS-reported figures; percent changes reflect endpoint-to-endpoint 2020 → 2024 comparison; percentiles reflect 2024 national rank against four-year public and private nonprofit institutions. Cells marked "not reported" indicate the indicator was not present in IPEDS for this institution.

Student Outcomes

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Four-Year Graduation Rate13.0%+116.7%13th
Six-Year Graduation Rate27.0%0.0%11th
Full-Time Retention Rate70.0%+29.6%30th
Pell Grant Six-Year Graduation Rate23.2%-10.3%11th
Pell-to-Non-Pell Graduation Gap2.9pp-74.9%27th
Pell Share of Cohort71.0%-6.6%90th

Financial Health

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Revenue-to-Expense Ratio0.90×-19.2%10th
Total FTE Enrollment5,041-7.5%78th
Endowment Valuenot reportednot reportednot reported
Net Assets (End of Year)$115.7M+3793.8%55th

Value for Money

Metric2024 Value5-Yr % ChangeNational Percentile
Instructional Spending %15.5%-16.2%5th
Student Support Spending %9.2%-45.6%33rd
Administrative Spending %7.6%+17.8%9th
Instruction+Support to Admin Ratio3.25×-40.8%63rd
Average Net Price$17,152+11.6%42nd
Net Price: $0-30K Income$16,500+12.3%62nd
Net Price: $30K-48K Income$16,387+6.5%60th
Net Price: $48-75K Income$19,622+10.9%66th
Net Price: $75K-110K Income$21,680+21.2%57th
Net Price: $110K+ Income$20,364-0.6%29th

Inspection Flags

FlagSectionStatus
Retention Below 80%
Alabama A & M University's retention rate fell below 80% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Four-Year Graduation Rate Below 50%
Alabama A & M University's 4-year graduation rate fell below 50% in 5 of 5 reported years — triggering the 3-of-5 threshold.
Student OutcomesTriggered
Pell Gap Exceeds 10 Points
Alabama A & M University's Pell graduation gap exceeded 10pp in 1 of 5 eligible years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Student OutcomesCleared
Revenue-to-Expense Below 1.0
Alabama A & M University's ratio fell below 1.0 in 2 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Financial HealthCleared
Enrollment Declined 5% or More
Alabama A & M University's total enrollment fell from 5,447 to 5,041 students between 2020 and 2024 (-7.5%) — a decline of 5% or more.
Financial HealthTriggered
Endowment Under $50M or Growth Under 15%
Endowment was not reported for 2020 or 2024, so this flag could not be evaluated.
Financial HealthNot Evaluated
High Cost, Low Completion
Alabama A & M University costs less than the national median AND graduates students at below-median rates — only one of two conditions is met.
Value for MoneyCleared
Spending on Students Below the National Median
Alabama A & M University's ratio fell below the national median of $2.75 in 1 of 5 reported years — below the 3-of-5 trigger threshold.
Value for MoneyCleared
Rising Price, Falling Outcomes
Either net price did not rise or the graduation rate did not decline between 2020 and 2024 — flag not triggered.
Value for MoneyCleared